Big Brother Naija Season 1

Season one of Big Brother Naija took place in 2006 and was actually called Big Brother Nigeria at the time.

The show aired on DStv Channel 37 for a duration of 91 days running from March 5 to June 4 and was hosted by Michelle Dede and Olisa Adibua.

Format There were 12 housemates who played the game for a grand cash prize worth $100000 and the voting results are verified by the auditing company of Alexander-Forbes.

Housemates On Day 1 (5th/March/2006), twenty-eight housemates entered the House. Day 1 is also referred to as the “Launch Night”.  

Chinedu (Ceeva) AmahSelf Employed24Delta State
Ebuka Obi-UchenduLawyer23Benin-City, Edo State
Francisca OwunmiStudent21Lagos
Frank KonweaDancer/Artiste29Lagos
Gideon OkekeStudent22Lagos
Helen EremiokhaleStudent25Lagos
Ichemeta OchogaStudent21Benue State
Ifeoma EjikemeEntrepeneur29Jos Plateau State
Joan AgabiLaw student24Awagir
Joseph AdaFlight Attendant32Lagos
Katung AduwakScriptwriter, Production Assistant26Kaduna
Maureen OsujiStudent23Lagos
Sandra OsigbovoStudent29Benin City
Adeyinka OremosuSelf Employed/Musician26Lagos


New housemates In a twist to the game, two new contestants were introduced on Day 23, much to the excitement of the remaining housemates.   Cancelling nominations Big Brother added another twist to the game on day 79 by cancelling the day’s scheduled nominations and making the house mates believe they will instead be evicted based on their performances on assigned tasks while in reality no more evictions were held and viewers began voting for the winner who turned out to be 26-year-old Katung Aduwak.